Ray Charles – Modern Sounds in Country and Western

I’m going to be too lazy to go very in-depth with this one.  Here’s what I know: Once he made a name for himself, he signed a contract with ABC Paramount that included a full artistic freedom clause.  He used that freedom to produce this album, despite the fears of label executives that a genre cross-over would fail.  From what I’m hearing while I write this, those fears were unwarranted.  This is less a blending of two genres than it is a straight R & B record using songs that had previously been recorded as country.  The lyrics and song structures for the songs chosen (and probably most country songs at the time [and now, probably]) seem pretty easily transferrable from one style to another.  Here’s what this guy has to say about it.

2 responses to “Ray Charles – Modern Sounds in Country and Western

  1. Sweeet. I’m really excited for this one. As big as Charles is, I’m pretty ignorant of his music. So, here goes.

  2. I think this is pretty fun. I like that I can sing along, for one thing. But I think I like more of his less polished stuff more.

Leave a Reply

